Interview: Sean Maher, riding-out the recession

Sean Maher graduated in the middle of the worst recession for several decades and found there were no jobs. Unperturbed, he decided to ride-out the recession, literally: cycling 12,000 miles from Cornwall to Capetown.

Sean Maher on Bodmin MoorHow did the idea for the trip come about?

Before I decided to do this trip I was a student at Exeter University. I graduated this year with a high 2:1 in Politics.

My main activity at university was Rugby and I played for the University 2nd XV in my final year.

I decided to do this trip because no matter who I applied to I couldn’t get a job! I thought this would help me boost my skills without having to do another year’s study or wait tables like some of my other graduate friends.

How have you been preparing?

I really started cycling to get to a summer job in my first summer of university. It was 10 miles there, 10 miles back and I did it on my brother-in-law’s old bike which I took the rear brake off, because it was rubbing on the back wheel!

I’ve been planning and training for this trip since the beginning of June, when I should have been revising. I tend to do around 30-40 miles, three times a week on the bike, plus running and walking a lot.

I’ve prepared for the trip by reading every book I can find about the continent and by following other expeditions. Particularly the Listen to Africa expedition.

What’s the route?

I plan to cycle to Plymouth, get the ferry to France and then cycle to Spain. From there the countries I want to pass through are Morocco – Western Sahara – Mauritania – Senegal – The Gambia – Senegal – Guinea – Sierra Leone – Guinea – Mali – Burkina Faso – Ghana – Togo – Benin – Nigeria – Cameroon – Gabon – Congo – DRC – Angola – Namibia – South Africa.

How long will it take?

I’m not 100% sure of the distance as Google Maps doesn’t work for Africa, but by using my map, some string and my Year 8 geography skills, I have worked out it is roughly 12,000 miles.

I want to do it in 6 months but I’ve budgeted for 8.

There are a couple of non-bike related journeys I want to make though, one of them is that I want to catch the world’s longest train in Mauritania which transports iron ore. It’s free in third class, and apparently one of the must-experience things to do in Africa.

When do you set off?

In November is the plan. I’m currently trying to scrape together a little bit more money to make it happen.

What’s it in aid of – will you be raising money for charity?

I want to raise a minimum of £10,000 for charity. I’m raising money for four charities, but the one closest to my heart is the Robert Johns Leukaemia Fund. Bob who runs it is a ‘Sir’, but is such an unlikely knight. You need to meet him to appreciate what a hero he is.

What bike are you using? Has it had any modifications?

The bike I’m training on is a mountain bike bought for £90 from a local hire shop – very credit-crunch chic! I want a Rohloff hub bike but I don’t have one… yet.

What equipment will you be using?

I’ll be taking everything I need. I have a good stove and an ultralight tent. I’m obviously taking as little as possible, though. The thing I’m most excited about is my Extrawheel trailer. It’s a third wheel for the bike which should put less weight over the back wheel and save on punctures.

You can find out more about the trip by visiting Sean’s website.

Leave a Reply

