The patron saint of cycling

saint christopherI spotted this while wandering through the backstreets of Norwich. You might not be able to see it clearly, what with the rust and the ill-considered camera angle, but that’s St Christopher.

What better to have on the face of a bell than the patron saint of travelers? I’m agnostic, but I still want one.

I’ve never had a bell on a bike before, but I think my town cruiser could do with one to clear the path of ambling shoppers. Does anybody know of any theft/tamper-proof ones?

Do some make a more pleasing “ding” than others? Can you buy them in certain notes? Or are they all much the same? Questions, questions…

One thought on “The patron saint of cycling

  1. The Avenir Bing-Bong Bell sounds like an old-fashioned doorbell. Very distinctive. Very pleasing
    I also have a St Chris’ bell. Came on an old British shopper from a charity shop. I fondly refer to as my Jesus bell. It sticks frequently, making me yell – “Ring Jesus!” at it. Which also makes people move out of the way.

Leave a Reply

