Bamboo frames and the Guardian Bike Blog

Calfee bamboo bikeI reviewed a Calfee bamboo bike this week for the Guardian’s new Bike Blog.

It was an unusual experience, and an unusual bike, but it’s certainly no gimmick – it rode superbly.

I won’t get into that, though, as I’ve covered it in the article itself. All I’ll say is that it was a great bike; really precise, but comfortable enough for a long ride.

The problem is that for a lot less cash I could have a custom Mercian, or pick up an old Merckx in good condition. I think I’d rather do that, but that’s just personal preference. I’m very impressed with what Calfee is doing with bamboo.

As for the blog, I’m pleased the Guardian are taking it on. It seems to be hitting the right note so far, covering things that commuters want to talk about; blind-spots, bike-theft and Boris Johnson. All mixed in with some quirkier reads like this £3,000 bamboo bike review.

One thought on “Bamboo frames and the Guardian Bike Blog

  1. Hi,

    I put that bamboo bike together !
    – great to hear you liked the ride.
    They absorb vibrations incredibly well, so are far more comfortable than a carbon fibre frame. The closest equivalent ride would be titanium (but that is springy rather than smooth), or mixed material exotics such as steel/aluminum combined.

Leave a Reply

