Toby Young knocked down by hit-and-run driver

BromptonThe author of How to Lose Friends and Alienate People, Toby Young, has been knocked off his Brompton by a hit and run driver.

On his blog he describes how he saw a driver edging his car out of a side street, pull out without looking and crash into him.

The driver left his phone number when asked, but it later turned out to be false. The thought that someone could come up with a plan like that in a moment of crisis is as impressive as it is offensive.

Luckily it sounds like he’s going to be OK, but he says he would have fared better if he was wearing a helmet.

There’s a simple moral to this story: If you’re going to cycle in Central London, wear a helmet. If I’d been wearing one I probably could have got back on my bike and cycled home. It wasn’t my fault — I mean, it really, really wasn’t my fault — but I still feel like an arse.

On a similar note, I read a post by an old colleague this week which is a pretty thorough list of research into the benefits of bike helmets.

If, like me, you’re still undecided on the issue – but increasingly bothered by stories like Toby’s – it’s a good place to start.

2 thoughts on “Toby Young knocked down by hit-and-run driver

  1. I’m going through a similar process, although the evidence seems to be the other way to me (at the moment: it may be that tomorrow there’s a new study showing helmets are effective). The trouble with stories is we can’t prove them one way or the other: Toby Young ‘may’ have been better off with a helmet: he ‘may’ not: The helmet may not have helped, or the impact may have caused ot to fail, it may have not stopped internal bleeding, or concussion, or rotational injuries. We don’t know.
    I’m not saying we shouldn’t wear helmets, but I’m also not sure we should start (or stop) on the basis of stories.
    Not really conclusive, I know…

  2. While there may or may not be compelling evidence about a helmet saving a rider’s life in a specific incident, I think everyone should wear one for the simple fact that it “could” save your life. I would hate to be the one who says “Told you so” if anyone suffered a serious injury through lack of a helmet.

    Besides, modern helmets are very light and, if properly adjusted, the rider soon forgets they have one on. A little inconvenience could save you from serious injury.

    David – A London Brompton commuter

Leave a Reply

